General

Westminster Palace

Westminster Palace

It’s not something I can honestly say I have ever aspired to but when the invitation arrived I was intrigued and found myself in the heart of London on a truly beautiful Summer’s afternoon.

On our way in we are met by a rather austere Oliver Cromwell, who, if you know your history, was a controversial figure who rose to power to eventually become Lord Protector of the Commonwealth.

 

 

Oliver Cromwell

 

As we make our way inside, I am immediately struck by the Gothic style architecture.

Pointed arches and ribbed vaulting is one of many distinguishing features of Gothic architecture and one I will never tire of personally.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Celestial ceilings, large windows, tracery (ornate stonework that holds the windows), carvings and ribs make for a dizzying display of decoration.  I felt an almost sensory overload with the amount of imagery my mind tried to process.

The guided tour was interesting but the architecture was a marvel and still leaves me in awe…

 

Leave a Reply

